Depression

From Private Practice, Season 3 Episode 14 “Love Bites”:

Violet: Depression isn’t not understanding that you have something you should live for; it’s knowing that you should feel differently, but it’s so bad that all you want to do is curl up and die.

I feel like I don’t even need to elaborate on or explain this quote. To me, this so eloquently captures how I feel right now.

I know logically that I have plenty of things to live for – I have a family, I have friends, I have a job, I have cats etc. As someone who usually relies on logic and reason, it is beyond frustrating for me that I cannot reason my way out of this depressive funk. Like the quote says, I KNOW that I should feel different, but I don’t. This disconnect between how I feel and how I think I should feel only serves to worse my depression.

I hope this quote helps others recognize what depression feels like, and serves as a reminder that depression is not something that it is possible to reason your way out of.

Leave a Reply

