Being Ready

“It’s a terrible thing, I think, in life to wait until you’re ready. I have this feeling now that actually no one is ever ready to do anything. There is almost no such thing as ready. There is only now. And you may as well do it now. Generally speaking, now is as good a time as any.” ~ Hugh Laurie

I really like this quote, and recite it to myself often when I am having a tough time wondering if I am ready to take certain steps. For example, I am probably going to take a graduate class this fall. There are many days where I consider not going through with it because I do not know if I am ready or not – it has been a long time since I have been in school. However, if I wait until I really feel ready, there is a good chance I will never feel ready. While I think it is important to be realistic, I also think that the anticipatory anxiety is usually far worse than the actual experience, and waiting just increases this anxiety.

I also think that this quote is very powerful when it comes to recovery itself. Although I have definitely had moments deep in the eating disorder that are awful and really motivate me as far as recovery, often times those moments are quickly replaced by the eating disorder telling me to wait, that things “could be worse” or “are not that bad.” Despite that voice, I have chosen to go into treatment because, as Hugh Laurie says “now is as good a time as any.” If I waited until I was 100% ready to gain weight or follow my meal plan, well, that would never happen. I think recovery often involves a fair amount of “fake it ’till you make it.” It involves doing it even when you do not feel ready or feel that you want to give up the eating disorder. It involves doing it NOW, with the idea that eventually it will become the new normal and feel right.

 

2 thoughts on “Being Ready

Leave a Reply

