ER quotes

Some ER quotes that I just found:

“Once something gets in my way, it’s like a chemical reaction. I just shut down, and I give up. I’m just looking for an excuse to stop.” ~ Abby, ER

I don’t think I shut down the second something gets in my way when it comes to work or school or anything, but I definitely do this with the meal plan.  If something gets in the way of me following the plan, rather than going out of my way to make sure I stay on top of things, I kind of throw my hands up and go “well, guess that’s not going to happen.”  As Abby says, I’m just looking for an excuse to stop.  My therapist and I have been talking a lot recently about needing to create a “new normal”, where I make getting in 100% the priority, as opposed to looking for outs or excuses.

Abby: I see how hard you’re throwing yourself into the job, Carter.
Carter: It’s a hard job.
Abby: So’s sobriety.

Just a good reminder that recovery from drugs, alcohol, eating disorder whatever, is hard work.

Leave a Reply

