Dr. Drew Interview

One of my guilty pleasures is Celebrity Rehab with Dr. Drew.  I haven’t watched it in years, but I used to watch it fairly regularly.  In fact, one of my favorite quotes of all times comes from it:

“I’ve just seen it so many times that I can tell when someone’s really willing to do whatever it takes and when someone’s willing to do what they think it should take. And it’s just not going to work like that, unfortunately.” –Shelly (rehab tech)

I use that quote in treatment all the time.  I think that I should only have to reach X weight, or eat Y amount, and when my therapist tells me “no, you actually need to reach X+10” I think “that is not necessary.”  I want to be willing to do whatever it takes, but I often get stuck and have trouble moving past what I think it should take.

I also love the quote from Dr. Drew himself:

“You are each entitled to your own life. You are entitled to be a person. You are entitled to be respected. And you are entitled to be deeply loved.” ~ Dr. Drew

Which brings me to the podcast I listened to last week where Marc Maron interviewed Dr. Drew: http://www.wtfpod.com/podcast/episodes/episode_547_-_dr._drew_pinsky

The whole interview was quite good and very interesting, but three lines in particular stood out to me.

Around minute 48, Dr. Drew says “recovery is about flourishing.”  This is something my therapist often talks to me about, although she uses the DBT term “building a life worth living.”  The goal is to get to a place of really living, of flourishing, rather than just existing.  It is possible to exist and still hold onto the eating disorder, but really hard to flourish with it.  Furthermore, when I think about a “life worth living”, the eating disorder is incompatible with that image.  So, even though right now I just feel like I am sort of existing day-to-day (depression is kind of high), hopefully soon I get to a point where I am really living, or as Dr. Drew would say, flourishing.

Dr. Drew also says that drug addiction is an “interpersonal problem with an interpersonal solution” (~1 hour, 10 min).  I think the same can be said for eating disorder treatment.  I know that when I think about my motivations for recovery, interpersonal issues are very high up on the list.  I want to be able to go out to eat with people without worrying.  I want to be able to have meaningful relationships.

Right before that, at around 1 hour and 9 minutes, Marc Maron and Dr. Drew discuss the long term nature of addiction and treatment.  As someone who wants a quick fix and gets quite frustrated that I don’t feel better NOW, it was a good reminder that treatment is measured in years, not days.

One thought on “Dr. Drew Interview

  1. This interview was soooo helpful (as Maron’s recovery-based chats usually are). S promised to listen before our next session so we could talk about it (pretty much exactly all the points you made here).

Leave a Reply

