Having Needs and Nurse Jackie

Now that I have finished Homeland I have moved onto Nurse Jackie. The main character is a nurse who abuses pain killers, so I expected her to be a little like House.  She has some good one-liners, like House.  However, she is quite compassionate.  She also has a husband and kids.  It took me a little while to get into the show, but now that I am into the second season I am engrossed.  Each episode is only 30 minutes long, making it easy to watch a lot of episodes in one sitting!

Jackie’s oldest daughter is around 10, and has some anxiety problems.  She is concerned about everything from the house catching on fire due to faulty wiring to getting diseases from people touching her food.  Her fears, especially the house catching on fire, reminds me a lot of when I was a kid.

Now onto a quote…

In the third episode of season two, one of the doctors sees the ER administrator eating on a bench and says:

Doctor O’Hara: “I don’t think I have ever seen you eat.”

Akalitus (head administrator): “I like to hide my humanity. Or at least keep it to a minimum.”

This quote really hits home to something I talked about with my therapist yesterday.  I really don’t like the fact that I have to eat.  I want to be superhuman and not have basic needs like eating.  Whenever I start to feel lightheaded or dizzy, I get so angry that my body needs food.  Especially if I am not restricting.  I really don’t like having needs!  However, as Akalitus basically says, eating is simply part of being human.
 
Also, rather than seeing food and calories as something I need to live, I see food as something that makes me gain weight or something that I need to fuel activity.  If I am not active or doing something productive (in other words, if I am sitting and watching hours of TV), I feel like I shouldn’t eat because I didn’t exert any mental or physical energy.  Rationally I know that a human needs food and calories to fuel basic cellular activity even if he/she just lays in bed all day.  I would tell any friend of mine that even if she lays in bed all day, she still has to eat.  But for myself…well, there are different standards.
2 thoughts on “Having Needs and Nurse Jackie

  1. Awesome, thanks! I read your post even though I haven’t made it to season 3 yet. Whoops. But, I love your point about things not being fixed in a single time slot. That Full House episode annoys me to no end.

Leave a Reply

