House Quotes

I’ve been pretty bad about blogging lately, so here are some House quotes to get the ball rolling again:

“If history is written by the victor, how do we find out what really happened?” ~ House

This quote kind of captures the constant back and forth in my head over whether or not I really am “sick” or in the right level of treatment.  How do I know what I really need?  How did I know if I am really sick, as opposed to being a hypochondriac?  Half the time, the eating disorder is telling me I definitely don’t need treatment.  But then sometimes I think “well, the fact that I did X, Y and Z means I need to be in treatment.”  Thus, my view of how I am doing is skewed based on whether it’s the eating disorder or my rational mind “writing the history.”

 

“I said I was an addict. I didn’t say I had a problem.” ~ House

This fits in with what I wrote above.  I admit that I have an eating disorder, but since I am doing normal things like hanging out with friends and having dinner with my family, I feel like it’s not really a problem per se.

 

“Problem is, if I can’t trust you, I can’t trust your statement that I can trust you. But thanks anyway, you’ve been a big help.”  

This is how I feel with treatment professionals and my family – I have been really honest this treatment go around, but because I have lied in the past no one (especially my mom) believes anything I say.  I am trying to show through my actions that I can be trusted, but it’s hard.

Leave a Reply

